To experience this website in full, please enable JavaScript or upgrade your browser.

DPTP wins Digital Preservation Award

ULCC’s Patricia Sleeman and Ed Pinsent receive the 2012 Digital Preservation Award for Teaching and Communication from Oliver Morley (Chief Executive of the National Archives) and Matthew Woollard (Director, UK Data Archive). [Picture courtesy of the Digital Preservation Coalition]

University of London can be justly proud of the team from ULCC who collected the 2012 Digital Preservation Coalition Award for Teaching and Communication.

It was a great moment at last night’s ceremony at the Wellcome Trust, to see Patricia and Ed receive their award from Oliver Morley, Chief Executive of the National Archives, and Matthew Woollard, Director of the UK Data Archive. Patricia and Ed have worked extremely hard to develop and sustain the Digital Preservation Training Programme (DPTP) since its beginnings as a JISC project in 2005, and it was truly gratifying to see their achievement recognised by a panel of judges that included the British Library, the BBC and the Bodleian Library.

As you should know by now, DPTP is an entry-level, introductory course that develops critical thinking about digital preservation, designed to help those working in information management to understand effective approaches to the challenges of digital preservation, and enable them to assess the models and examples in the context of their own organisations.

As well as its scheduled and bespoke courses (most recently at the National Library of Ireland), the DPTP team is actively involved in many of ULCC’s  Digital Archives & Research Technologies activities, including work with the School of Advanced Study, and most of the University’s colleges and institutes, and on projects for JISC, AHRC, Mellon Foundation and the European Commission. They recently completed the JISC-funded SHARD “Preservation of Historical Research Data” project with IHR, and will contribute to IHR’s forthcoming History DMT (Data Management Training and Guidance) project, funded by AHRC.

Over the years DPTP contributors and supporters have included Kate Bradford, William Kilbride, Kevin Ashley, Maggie Jones, Jen Mitcham, Simon Tanner, Nancy McGovern, Adrian Stevenson and Rory McNicholl. But it is above all the skill and dedication of Patricia Sleeman and Ed Pinsent that have ensured the sustained success of the programme in sharing essential digital preservation skills with a wider audience.

We’d like to thank everyone involved in the awards – the judges, the other nominees, our hosts at the Wellcome Trust (with their smashing new library web site) but most of all the indefatigable staff of the Digital Preservation Coalition who organised everything with their usual aplomb. A splendid time…!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *